Image: Derrick Chavarria going across the goal

Kaya Cattouse wins undisputed in the Women classification; Tyler Tejeda Junior champ

BELIZE CITY, Wed. Jan. 4, 2023

On a gorgeous, brilliant and also bright Sunday early morning, January 1, 2023, some 71 motorcyclists removed from simply outside the Santa Elena boundary in Corozal for the large Elite biking race on New Year’s early morning, being the 32nd operating of the Yearly Krem New Year’s Day Biking Standard, a magnificent biking custom that has actually come to be certainly the 2nd largest occasion on the yearly biking schedule, gone beyond in beauty and also eminence just by the Yearly Holy Saturday Cross Nation Standard.

The day’s biking competitors focused around 3 major race occasions, the largest, lengthiest running and also a lot of respected being the Male Elite & Under 23 & Masters race, a 96-mile trip “from the boundary to the blvd”, finishing at the Goal on Main American Blvd in Belize City simply over a hundred meters after going across the Belcan Bridge. The Juniors & Youths race took a trip the 52 miles from Orange Stroll Community to the Goal; and also the Females Elite additionally made the 52-mile trip from Orange Stroll to the Goal.

Elite/Under 23/Masters

In the function Elite race, where the large cash prize consisted of some 8 terminal rewards of a thousand bucks each, it took a while for any type of effective transfer to escape from the major peloton; yet at some point it did take place, with a team of eleven motorcyclists dividing themselves from the major team appearing of Orange Stroll Community on that particular lengthy stretch in the direction of Sandhill Town in the Belize Area. Those eleven were at some point trimmed to 9, that included previous Krem Standard champs Giovanni Lovell, Oscar Quiroz and also John Delong, in addition to two-time Cross Nation champ Justin Williams. Yet after that an unusual two-man break-away saw U-23 biker Derrick Chavarria, that was Krem Standard sub-champ in 2015, and also one more U-23 biker Eric Trapp opening up a 40-second void in between themselves and also the chasing team of 7 as they went through Sandhill Town, with Trapp taking the terminal reward at Los Lagos. Yet with the chase team warm on their heels, Trapp might not hold the speed with Chavarria, that marched alone at the Boom cut-off and also rode solo the continuing to be 13 miles of the race, taking all terminal rewards approximately the End up in a brave one-man initiative to complete some 26 secs in advance of 2nd area Jyven Gonzalez.

In the gruelling 96-mile flight that balanced 24.53 miles per hr, 32 bicyclists finished the trip, 27 of them within the 30-minute limitation, while some 39 motorcyclists deserted the race someplace along the road.

Elite ending up order was: Champ 1st Location – Derrick Chavarria (Friend Biking, 3:54:48); second Jyven Gonzalez (G-Flow, 3:55:14); third Giovanni Lovell (Lovell Biking, 3:55:16); fourth Joshua Richer (501 Valvoline, 3:55:40); fifth Joslyn Chavarria, Jr. (FAL Biking, 3:55:40); sixth John Delong (U.S.A., 3:55:40); 7th Eric Trapp (Westrac Partnership, 3:55:40); 8th Dejuan Hyde (Rolling Shattazp-BZ Boyz, 4:01:38); 9th Justin Williams (L39gons of LA, 4:01:41); 10th Oscar Quiroz, Jr. (501 Valvoline, 4:02:50); 11th Carroll Devin Azueta (M&M Design, 4:05:23); 12th Goran Gabourel (Unattached, 4:05:27); 13th Wasani Castro (Westrac Partnership, 4:06:08); 14th Renan Matus (M&M Design, 4:08:40); 15th Dwight Lopez (Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz, 4:08:50); 16th Kent Gabourel (Kulture/SDP, 4:09:10); 17th Robert Liam Stewart (Unattached, 4:09:10); 18th Kevin Gentle (G-Flow, 4:10:11); 19th Sherwin Roca (FAL Biking, 4:13:28); 20th Kenroy “Smokes” Gladden (Kulture/SDP, 4:14:20); 21st Pedro (Peter) Choto (Group Imani’s, 4:15:02); 22nd Keiron Ysaguirre (Group Gonz, 4:16:21); 23rd Fernando Rosado (Westrac Partnership, 4:17:12); 24th Nashen Ysaguirre (Unattached, 4:19:15); 25th Carlton Robinson (Westrac Partnership, 4:20:17); 26th Vallan Symns (Kulture/SDP, 4:20:17); and also 27th Henry Li (G-Flow, 4:24:25).

Masters leading finishers: 1st Dwight Lopez (Masters 50+); second Kent Gabourel (Masters 35+); 3rd Robert Liam Stewart (Masters 50+).

Masters 4/5 leading finishers: 1st Keiron Ysaguirre (Masters 35+); second Vallan Symns (Masters 35+).

Elite Females

The Elite Females race had just 4 rivals, and also it was all Kaya Cattouse from beginning to end. Regardless of a remarkable initiative, the absence of tight competitors protected against Kaya from endangering the document still held now Biking Federation head of state and also Kaya’s major rival for a variety of years, Alicia Thompson, that has actually obviously retired. Kaya’s finishing time was around twelve mins off the document of 2:43:30 established by Alicia when she clipped Kaya in the ending up sprint in 2018.

Elite Women ending up order: Champ 1st Location – Kaya Cattouse (LA Sweat, 2:55:26); second MEX Mariana Valdez (LA Sweat, 3:01:07); third Kedisha Francis (Unattached, 3:04:47); and also fourth Paulita Chavarria (Group Gonz, 3:14:33).

Juniors & Youths

Sixteen bicyclists started the Juniors & Youths race, with 11 finishing the trip within the 30-minute limitation after the victor, 2 others ending up outside the moment limitation, and also 3 motorcyclists quiting of the race.

From a team of 8 that got in Belize City appropriate, Tyler Tejeda dominated to take the Junior champion.

Juniors & Youths ending up order: Champ 1st Location – Tyler Tejeda (Rolling Shattaz-BZ Boyz, 3:02:10); second Jamar Murry (G-Flow, exact same time [s.t.] 3:02:10); third Delton Rojas (Unattached, s.t.); fourth Stephen Sylvester (Group Gonz, s.t.); fifth Evrit Matute, Jr. (G-Flow, s.t.); sixth Benito Gutierrez (G-Flow, s.t.); 7th Richard Rosado (Group Cayo, s.t.); 8th Ivan Usher (Unattached, s.t.); 9th Devyn Major (G-Flow, 3:02:27); 10th Jaylen Briceño (G-Flow, 3:02:27); 11th Khyron Staine (G-Flow, 3:02:56); 12th Jaheem Lewis (Top Trip, 3:50:12); and also 13th Joseph Lamb (Top Trip, 3:50:12).

Juniors leading finishers: 1st Tyler Tejeda; second Jamar Murry; third Delton Rojas.

Youths leading finishers: 1st Devyn Major; second Khyron Staine.

(See the checklist of ending up rewards and also terminal rewards somewhere else in this problem.)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *